Morton County, Kansas 1025 Morton St., Elkhart, KS 67950-1116 Phone 1-800-697-4807

Helpful Links

Morton County Health Department; Phone:  (620) 697-2612;   Fax:  (620) 697-2790; Address:  625 Colorado, Elkhart, KS 67950; Office Hours:  8:00am - 4:00pm, Monday, Tuesday, Thursday & Friday; Wednesday:  8:00am to Noon; 2nd Monday of the Month: 10:00am to 6:00pm; Open During Lunch

Click Here For COVID-19 Updates & Information

Do you know what the Morton County Health Department has to offer you?

Services offered by the Morton County Health Department aim to improve the health of the community through education, early interventions, promotion of healthy lifestyles and immunizations as well as disease and injury prevention.

The Morton County Health Department has four full-time professional staff consisting of:  two Public Health Nurses (PHN) who are also Registered Nurses (RN):  Rhianna Shaw PHN III, BSN and Kendra Walsh PHN II; a Healthy Start Home Visitor (HSHV), Pam Baldwin who also functions as a secretary; and our Administrative assistant, Marla Houtz who also does billing.  Rhianna Shaw is the Administrator and Disease Investigator for Morton County, helps with the various programs and clinical nursing in the health department, and is pursuing her Master of Science in Nursing Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP).  Kendra Walsh does the family planning, tuberculosis, and immunization programs as well as clinical nursing in the health department.  Haley McCammon PA-C does our Women's Health/Family Planning Clinic in support of the county's family planning grant.  Our Health Officer is Dr. Manual Caga-anan M.D.

Public health services in Morton County are a joint effort and responsibility of county government and the state of Kansas.  The Morton County Health Department is responsible for administering local public health programs, preventative health services, and enforcing state and local public health rules.  The Morton County Health Department is further governed by the Local Board of Health which consists of the Morton County Commissioners: Teresa Harder, Jay D. Coen, and Randy Bane.

Services Provided

Programs Available