Morton County, Kansas 1025 Morton St., Elkhart, KS 67950-1116 Phone 1-800-697-4807

Helpful Links

Morton County Fire Department

There are 3 Volunteer Fire Departments in Morton County.  They are located in the Cities of Elkhart, Richfield and Rolla.  The Morton County Fire Chief coordinates Fire Department responses in Rural Morton County and works with the U.S. Forest Service when responding to Fires on the Cimarron National Grassland.  Each department is equipped with at least a pumper, a brush unit, and a tanker.  The Elkhart Fire Department houses the Rescue Unit.  The Rescue Unit has an assortment of tools and equipment, including the Jaw-of-Life, to be used in a number of different rescue scenarios.  Many of our Volunteers are also EMTs and Storm Spotters.

Burn Permits

If a burn ban has been issued an advisory will be placed on the opening page of the County Website.

A burn permit is required for controlled burns in Rural Morton County and the City of Elkhart.  The information provided when a Burn Permit is issued helps prevent Emergency Resources from being unnecessarily sent to controlled burns.  To obtain a burn permit see the information below.

The City of Elkhart

Rural Morton County